Superb place, superb hospitality, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed.
Guest Reviews

"Stunning views, great service"

With a killer view of the falls, rooms designed to make one cozy, relaxed and a lovely balcony to enjoy the view anytime from your rooms and a short but, excellent menu, friendly and helpful staff, lively environs and the superb Jacuzzi fitted, spacious bathrooms with a view to the falls as well... It was a chunk of heaven for me... I came away wishing i could have forgotten the real world and stayed on a bit longer... I loved the scented soaps and candles they sold in their stores and a fabulous time exploring the superb wilderness on my way to the falls... All in all, i had a perfectly lovely time. I would happily recommend the resort to anyone...

Stayed April 2014

A G PILLAI , United Arab Emirates

"Lovely resort"

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an absolutely relaxed vacation. We had booked into a premium room which had a stunning view of the falls and as luck would have it, the falls were overflowing and was indeed a soothing sight. The rooms were pleasantly done, we were impressed with the architecture, all eco friendly materials used everywhere. The staff were extremely cordial and took great pains to ensure the guests had a good stay especially Mr. Unnikuttan and Mr.Nithin Jose. Though the menu at the restaurant was limited they were flexible and would try and cook dishes as per our request. We went for a jungle safari one evening, though we did not spot too many animals, the drive and the entire experience was very enjoyable. We also went to see the falls, again a good experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family

Kumar , Dubai

"Stunning views, great service"

We stayed two nights in the treehouse and it was a truly memorable experience. The rooms are (as you would expect) spotless and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, really going out of their way to make our time there as enjoyable as possible. Highly recommended!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple

Demi H, Brighton, , England, United Kingdom

"Magical View, Relaxing Stay"

We were very glad we were able to book a room at this place because the view is spectacular. It's quite a travel from the main Cochin Airport, but it was well worth it. The place is high up away from any major town or city, which was a perfect spot for us, or anyone else looking for a quite peaceful setting.

The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful and extremely friendly. Nithin, who worked at the front desk helped us plan our weekend that maximized both relaxation and adventure: he set us up with local guides and excursions by the waterfalls and jungle safaris while factoring our length of stay and our time with them.

Our room was amazing: clean, well designed, and a balcony that overlooked a magestic view of the waterfalls. We were surrounded by nature: magestic trees, exotic plants, and monkeys and exotic birds everywhere!

The food was excellent. Breakfast was the best part of the day and we were treated to a full Kerala breakfast buffet (Kerala is known for it's hearty and very healthy breakfast, we were told and the hotel did not disappoint). We did not have lunch at the hotel, but dinners could have been a bit more exciting. The majority of the menu was western cuisine, and choice for local Indian cuisine was minimal at best, however the Indian items we did had were very tasty. We just wished there were more options.

Exploring the area, we came across a number of stores, fruit vendors, and coconut vendors along the road, and these we visited for lunch. The hotel does not serve alchohol, so if you're looking for some, go down the road for 10 minutes to the only bar in the area, "The Beer Parlour". You can drink there or buy bottles and take them up to your hotel to drink.

All in all, my wife and I had a great time and we would definitely recommend coming here as it's something worth experiencing!

Room Tip: - Book in advanced because not all rooms have a view to the waterfalls! - There's a treehouse ...

HandEyePhotography , Toronto

"You will not be disappointed! Location is to die for."
I booked this hotel again from trip advisor reviews. I was blown away. The room we had overlooked the falls, it was awesome. Although the falls were not spectacular as we went in January, it was stunning. The room shower has a long window which overlooks the falls.Its very eco friendly so there are homed soap, gel etc. The interior of the room is all wood and there is a balcony where you can sit and admire the view. The restaurant food is pricey but worth it. The breakfast was great. Really enjoyed the stay. When you come out of the hotel turn right and there is entrance (you have to pay) to walk down the forest and to the falls.You can sit right at the bottom of the falls and admire the majestic falls.

Room Tip: All room I think over look the falls.

Chizanita

"Breathtaking views, wonderful service"
We recently spent part of out honeymoon at Rainforest and thoroughly enjoyed our 4 nights there. Rainforest is an extremely relaxing and beautiful location, I've never woken up to such a breathtaking view before, the waterfalls are truly mesmerising. We were very well looked after by the staff and they kindly upgraded us to one of their suites as the pool was under maintenance. The food was very enjoyable, overall we felt completely rejuvenated at the end of our stay. I also recommend the jeep safari, more beautiful views, wild elephants, monkeys and giant squirrels, really enjoyable. • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple

SusiSalavati, London, UnitedKindom

"What a view"

We were in the resort for two nights and saw several new arrivals act in exactly the same way. They would get out of their cars and walk into reception then walk straight through it and up to the balustrade to look at the falls. We were there before the monsoon and the falls were at less than full strength, but still breathtaking. The flow varies across the day as they are at the bottom of a series of several hydro dams, but the view is still wonderful.

You can go further up the road and take a paid walkway out to the top of the falls, but we were more than satisfied with the view from the terrace. I believe you can walk down the hill from the bottom of the resort to the bottom of the falls, but we were not that energetic.

The pool was still closed for maintenance and that was a pity, but we had plenty to do. If we travel in the area again we will certainly return. Room Tip: All the rooms look out at the falls, it’s just a case of how far down the steps you want to go as the... See more room tips

•Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple

friday_dog Melbourne, Australia

"Once in a lifetime"

As a male and female couple, we stayed here in April 2014. We stayed in a standard room, all rooms have a fantastic view of Athirapally waterfalls and our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.

While there is nowhere else in the area to eat, the food and service in the hotel was excellent and the tasty menu has a choice of main course which change from day to day. Hotel will not serve any wine or beer that you bring

On a final note, our stay was made incredibly comfortable by Nithin Jose, who worked tirelessly to ensure our happiness

• Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple

zjStack, Dublin, Ireland

The interaction with the wild, warm greetings and welcoming staff and the amazing site of the Arthirapalli waterfalls made us feel at the top of the world.
The memories we carried from the place will always be cherished by us. The mouth watering food served by you with pure essence of Kerala , has made your cuisine one of our favourites. Our special thanks to Mr. Nitin Jose , Mr. Suresh our guide to the falls, smiling Ms. Chinju & to the chef who made fresh raw mango curry for us. We hope to be there again with our friends & relatives.

Mukesh Nayar & family.

We are the Singapore Group that stayed in RAINFOREST ATHIRAPALLY for a night unfortunately. As promised, I am writing to you to thank you for your excellent hospitality. You and your staff have been very accommodating and attended to our needs very promptly. We must congratulate you for your excellent service. We had a very enriching experience during our stay in RAINFOREST. Thank you very much. Enclosed is a Photograph of the group - in case you cannot remember us.

Anthony Cheok

We stayed here for 2 nights in April and it was beautiful. There is no TV in the room so you will just have each other for entertainment! :) Shouldn't be a problem if you like each others company! Think of it like a second honeymoon!

It is a beautiful part of the country and very relaxing. The rooms are very nice and the pool is lovely too. The food changes on a daily basis so you never know what you are going to get but everything we ate was superb. The staff were very helpful. We went on both the trek to the waterfall and the night time safari. We got to see some elephants in the wild which was cool. After the crazy hustle and bustle of the rest of India, this was a welcome break and a chance for us to recharge our batteries!

Flynnbo1 Cincinnati, Ohio

Wow! Best side trip you can do from Cochin. You cannot compare the view from Rainforest Lodge. Breathtaking vista of the waterfall right out the window of every room. On top of that the rooms are modern, clean and well appointed. Food was also affordable and good. Service was great. Make time to hike up to the falls. Above the falls there is a swimming area where you can frolic in some small cascades. Crowded with Indian people but definitely a cool experience and one of the highlights of our trip.
Stayed December 2013, travelled with family

Fraser131313 Edmonton, Canada

Athirapally was the first destination during our recent 10 day trip to Kerala. Our vacation got off to great start in the tree house here at Rainforest Resort. The tree house is located far from the reception area, allowing plenty of natural treasures and privacy. In spite of being far, there were no service issues whatsoever. The management took every possible step to help us with whatever minor issues we had. The food served was absolutely brilliant, too. The description of this place is incomplete without mentioning the breathtaking views of the Athirapally Falls. The best view is available from the tree house. Unfortunately, we could spend only one day in this beautiful place. Would certainly visit again and spend at least two days in the tree house.

Room Tip: Go for the tree house if you can survive without A.C for a night or two.

IBhattacharjee Kolkata, India

We went to Rainforest Resort only for lunch. The dining area looks directly at the falls. It is a beautiful space, done up with great taste and making the view the hero of the experience. Food was excellent. The whole experience filled us with a 'peaceful, easy feeling'!
Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple

Gita Chennai

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon in mid-November, and with just an hour's drive from Cochin airport, we reached this green paradise.
No matter what you prepare for your first time here, the 1st sights and sounds will stun you. The view you get will be as good, if not better than through the official entrance to the Athirapally Falls and what a sight they are.... simply, Stunning location! Adding to the feel, is the thick forest surrounding the property (We sighted a Malabar Giant Squirrel within property grounds).
We stayed in the Premium Room, and views remained stunning as ever whether from the balcony or the jacuzzi in the bathroom. The room is nice and spacious, perfect for a couple (only be careful of leaving food out, there are ants which appear out of nowhere).
We were a little concerned on the food and service having read previous reviews, but to our pleasant surprise, on both counts, we were very satisfied. The property manager and staff took very good care of us, even ensuring meals sent to our rooms without any extra room service charge (might be more difficult if occupancy is higher, was not so in our case).
Food is authentic Kerala cuisine, and though choice is a bit limited, we were more than happy with the choices available. Special credits to the Rasam (perfect for my wife who had a bit of a sniffle) & Koon Roast.
Activities include trekking to the falls, spa, a night safari (it's a drive down a tar road exploring relatively undisturbed forest, not an actual safari, but if bored, can do, decent chance of sighting elephants, deer, gaur).
Tariffs are high, but with such an outstanding location, this honeymoon trip was certainly worth it. A big thank you to everyone at Rainforest for making our time there special.

Room Tip: If you want to enjoy jacuzzi, go for the Premium Room. Else Luxury rooms would do great. Heard all r...

Shashank B Navi, Mumbai

This resort gives you a view of lifetime, be it from the lobby, restaurant or your room and you will never have appreciated nature so much.
We stayed here only for 1 night but realized that it deservesatleast a 2-3 day trip. The Waterfalls are such scintillating and breath-taking.
the property is surrounded by the trees, birds chirping and the loud roar of the waterfalls. The hospitality of the staff was very good. We would definitely recommend everyone to stay in this awesome resort.

Room Tip: No tip needed. All the rooms give you a full view of the waterfalls

Akansha M Mumbai, India

We visited the hotel just to get lunch, and it turned out to be by far the best meal we had in three weeks travelling in South India. The view over to the falls from the lunch area was just stunning and staff were very friendly. They even showed us the rooms (they looked very nice but make sure you get one facing the falls) and took us up into the tree house. That was special. It has a double bed and two layers of mosquito netting. I hope the chef stays on... we had a fish curry and a prawn biriani made with dried prawns. Simply fresh and delicious and beautifully spiced. The WC was spotless too and there was a little shop selling soaps and essential oils and T shirts. Be warned, you must book ahead if you are dropping by for a meal or you wont get past the gate.

Room Tip: Insist on a waterfall view

Darwin Beagle Leiden

Rainforest Revelry

Think about it. A simply superb location, at the lip of the Athirapally Falls. The Celestial Suite which really is divine, done up in crisp white and vivid orange, with views of the Falls. A blue-blue pool hedged in by mango and jackfruit trees, with views of the Falls. Lip-smacking food that runs the gamut of Kerala and pan-Indian cuisine, served up by master chef Baiju, at a restaurant with views of the Falls.Last but definitely not the least, an exciting night safari in the Sholayar forests. No view of the Falls this time but you are too busy spotting Malabar squirrels, bison, wild boar and elephants to really miss that. This is a lovely place..I recommend you make an annual R and R, it will do you a world of good.

Sheila Kumar Wellington, The Nilgiris.

Thank you so very much for your kind hospitality, caring and wonderful service throughout our stay here. Both Abhishek and me were here at Athirapally filming for Mani Ratnam’s “ Raavan”, which has been a very hectic schedule of sheer hard work, but I must compliment and thank your wonderful staff, particulary Jobin, for being ever so warm, caring and willing to take special care for us, our comfort and making our stay here as comfortable as possible. Wishing all of you the best….. God bless and have a special Christmas and a very happy new year.

Aishwarya Rai Bachchan

Absolutely Stunning

India was one of the best vacations of my life and staying in this hotel was the cherry on top of the ice-cream. We only stayed one night; I wish that we had stayed ten. Everything was wonderful from the picnic by the falls to the beautiful and well kept rooms. I recommend it to anybody even children over 7 years of age

World Traveller KSA Tripadvisor

Thank you soooo much everyone specially Jobin, superb place, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed, superb hospitality, all the very best to everyone, see you soon….

Vijay Actor

My friend and I stayed in this stunning hotel for one night, my only problem was that it definitely was not long enough.

We were greeted by friendly staff who provided superb service, were helpful and polite with interesting local information and good food advice! The guide who showed us round the falls not only saved my friend from falling in the river but had a wealth of knowledge of the plant and animal life surrounding us.

Our room was beautiful, with fantastic views of the falls from both our balcony and the hot tub (which relieved our tired muscles after spending an exhausting day chilling by the stunning pool)!

I would definitely recommend this hotel...perfect for romantic getaways or a relaxing base for exploring the rainforest.... actually any excuse I can think of to go I would use!

Jessica Annabel

Thank you so much for your wonderful stay. Your hospitality and care is simply fine. I felt very peaceful here. That’s priceless. All your staff are very humble. Whenever I find time to relax I will come here. Now I have come for Vijay’s “Vettaikaran” shooting. Thank you Jobin for your good service. I want to be here for the next rainy season also.

Gopinath Cinematographer

We stayed in the Celestial room.
The place was well kept. great view of the falls.
Loved the food.We had a great family outing

Uvama Chennai